BMW Motorsport News – Issue 33/2015

6.9.2015. ELMS: Class win and podium success for BMW teams in Le Castellet.


The two BMW teams in the European Le Mans Series (ELMS) enjoyed a successful trip to southern France. On Sunday, the “Circuit Paul Ricard” (FR) hosted the “4 Hours of Le Castellet” – the fifth and penultimate round of the 2015 season. In the LM GTE class, BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS finished second with the BMW Z4 GTE to claim a place on the podium.

The car was driven by BMW works driver Andy Priaulx (GB), Henry Hassid (FR) and Jesse Krohn (FI). The trio climbed to second overall in the LM GTE class and go into the season finale in Estoril (PT) on 17th/18th October still with a chance of clinching the title. In the GTC class, Franck Perera (FR), Eric Dermont (FR) and Dino Lunardi (FR) claimed their second win of the season in the TDS Racing BMW Z4 GT3. In doing so, they extended their overall lead in their class.


VLN: Bouveng makes his debut in the BMW Z4 GT3 – TKS-Motorsport wins in the BMW M235i Racing Cup class.

BMW Motorsport Junior Victor Bouveng (SE) made his debut at the wheel of the BMW Z4 GT3 at the Nürburgring (DE) on Saturday. He raced in the number 36 BMW Z4 GT3 for Walkenhorst Motorsport, alongside Michela Cerruti (IT), Felipe Fernándes Laser (DE) and David Jahn (DE) at the six-hour race – the highlight of the season in the VLN Endurance Championship. The quartet came home sixth overall after 41 laps of the Nürburgring-Nordschleife. First place in the BMW M235i Racing Cup class went to Michele Di Martino (DE) and Moritz Oberheim (DE) of the TKS-Motorsport team. The duo finished with a lead of more than five minutes over Ralf Schall (DE) and Mario Merten (DE) of the Bonk Motorsport team. Schall and Merten continue to lead the Drivers’ Championship. Their lead over the new second-placed pair of Di Martino and Oberheim is now 12 points. Third place in the six-hour race went to the number 680 BMW M235i Racing of the Mathol Racing team. In total, BMW teams claimed six class wins.



24h Barcelona: Eleven BMWs start in Spain – class win for Saxon Motorsport.

The 24h Series was in Spain at the weekend: the “24h Barcelona” marked the fifth round of the 2015 season. A total of 11 BMW racing cars competed at the “24h Barcelona”. In the A5 class, Nick Barrow (GB), Tom Barrow (GB), Dave Robinson (GB) and Jamie Morrow (GB) claimed victory in the BMW 135D GTR fielded by Saxon Motorsport. Second and third place in this class went to DUWO Racing with the BMW M235i Racing and Intersport Racing with the BMW E46 M3. The Walkenhorst Motorsport team, which raced in the A6 class for GT3 cars with BMW works driver Jens Klingmann (DE), Henry Walkenhorst (DE), Matias Henkola (FI) and Chris Tiger (US), was unfortunate. The BMW Z4 GT3 was forced to come into the pits after a collision, through no fault of its own. The lengthy repairs consequently cost the team two and a half hours. After 24 hours, Walkenhorst Motorsport crossed the finish line seventh in the class and 26th overall.


BTCC: BMW trio in action in Rockingham.

The eighth of the ten rounds that make up the 2015 British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) took place this weekend. The West Surrey Racing team competed with a slightly different trio of drivers in Rockingham (GB): Nick Foster (GB) replaced BMW works driver Andy Priaulx (GB), who was in action in the European Le Mans Series in Le Castellet (FR). Sam Tordoff (GB) was the best-placed driver for the team in Rockingham. He finished tenth, 14th and fifth in his BMW 125i M Sport. Foster finished the first two races in 16th place and came home 12th in race three. Their team-mate Rob Collard (GB) had a tough day. He was 18th in race one, and could do no better than 28th after spinning in race two. He then failed to finish the third and final race.